Psalms 107:2 Let the redeemed of the Lord say so, whom he hath redeemed from the hand of the enemy;

Please invite the former BibleForums members to join us. And anyone else for that matter!!!

Contact The Parson
+-

Author Topic: I got saved  (Read 771 times)

Billy Evmur

• View Profile
I got saved
« on: September 03, 2023, 09:24:00 AM »
Back in the 70s I was a department manager in one of Britain's largest supermarkets. Pay was good but it was hard work and long hours, I would come home just about bushed.

One day on the way home I picked up a magazine off the pavement, it's banner read God loves YOU, He wants to bless YOU. I thought that sounds nice, I'll have some of that.
It was colourful, packed with photos. It was packed with stories about miracles, well I didn't believe any of that but it was American so I made allowances for that and I could see the preacher [T. L. Osborn] was preaching to many 1, 000s of people, mebbe he just got a little carried away. But he had an honest face, Daisy his wife had an honest face. And I sure did like their sermon articles, "Christ IN YOU the hope of glory". So I ticked the box for more copies.

The magazine was shipped from America bimonthly which meant it could arrive any time between 6 and 10 weeks, but I always KNEW traveling home from work that it had arrived that day for sure ... and it always had.
I had bought a bible to check out the numerous scripture quotes and when it arrived it was always the same. I disengage the phone and lock the door and settle down to read it cover to cover. Mostly campaign reports and sermon extracts.

One beautiful day I read the 2 page testimony of Juan Santos of Poncé Peurto Rico. He had been a hopeless cripple for 16 years, a poor beggar man but he heard about the gospel campaign being conducted in his city and heard about the miracles so he begged to be carried to the meetings. He was placed far down the field, back to back with a blind woman propping each other up.